What have I learned?

This trip has pushed me in many different ways, but I had not expected to be pushed in many of the ways I was. Trekking in the Himalayan mountains, you expect to be physically pushed, and I was, but the big stretch for me was the mental push, and for me this was even harder to deal with.

For me, I think life is all about opportunity, which ones you take and which ones you don’t. I am blessed with a life full of opportunity, and because of this, I have been trained to take certain opportunities whenever they come up.

We started our trek a group of thirteen; only a handful of us made it to the lake. Every time a member of our group had to stay or turn back I was hit by one of those stretching moments. Instinctively I wanted to be the one hiking down with them, staying, helping, taking that opportunity, but I knew I was on the trek for a reason, and that reason was unclear every time one of these opportunities arose. At least the reason was unclear until I reached the lake. I have never been in such a place. The thing about this “place” is that it wasn’t just about where I was physically, seventeen thousand feet up in the most beautiful, outrageous place I have ever been, but just as much about where I was mentally and emotionally. I would like to say that the few drops of salty water dripping from my eyes was just another symptom from the altitude, but the source is still unknown. The Place that trail brought me was unlike anywhere I have ever been, and it is in places like that where I want to live my life.

The future is daunting. Every time I am asked where I am going to school, or what I’m going to be, I am intimidated by the undeveloped answer I give each time. I had no idea what was waiting for me at the base of those peaks, on the top of those glaciers. I did not know where that path was taking me and yet I followed it and I trusted it, even though it was seemingly not there.

I don’t know where my path is taking me. I don’t know where I am going to school or what I’m going to be. But, I know I’m on a path, and If I want to make it to that lake, or to that place, I will trust that path and I will walk upon it even if it is seemingly not there.

So what have I learned?’

I have learned to accept. To accept the fact that I don’t know where I’m going, but that I trust where I’m going. And when the path is unclear, to take off my boots and sink into the ground to secure that next step.

Thank you Nepal, Thank you Himalayas, Thank you Tilicho Lake, for those stretching moments.

Galen – Class of 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *